Leigh Newman

Still Points North
a memoir 


"It feels like everyone thinks that he or she can pen a memoir these days—but Leigh Newman is one of the few to have proven she really can, and what's more has good reasons for doing so...there's something hauntingly universal about her story."—New York Daily News


"What really sets this fearless memoir apart is the heartfelt, riotously funny writing" —O The Oprah Magazine

"Breathtaking"—Harpar's Bazaar 

"A moving account of the number that divorce does on a child. Flying in her father's prop plane, skiing across a frozen lake, encountering a black bear and nearly dying during all of the above—this is where writing really comes to life "—New York TImes

"A thought-provoking book and one you should read with your sneakers nearby. When you're finished you'll feel like you need to go hiking." —Marie Claire



"Newman..is at her best bringing to life the chapters on her near feral Alaskan upbringing. You can practically smell the freshly killed game" —Entertainment Weekly

"Newman's adult search for her own true home is riveting, as her worldwide adventures; it's a joy to be in on the ride." —Reader's Digest

Synopsis: 
A searing memoir about searching for home, set on the tundra of the Alaskan Bush, for fans of Mary Karr's The Liar's Club and Alexandra Fuller's Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight.

At age seven, Leigh Newman can face down a black bear, land a silver salmon and remain calm when her family’s single-prop plane stalls out and falls towards the earth (but doesn’t crash). At age eight, she can fly 5,000 miles between her violently divorced parents—balancing one life in Alaska with her dad with another one with her mom in the Lower 48. At age 31? She can charm a Mafia boss in Russia, track a tiger in Nepal, and swim off with a pod of wild dolphins in the Galapagos. What she still can’t do is unpack her duffle and open up—even to the man she married. How does independence morph into exile? How does surviving—literally—become a way of life? Part love letter to Alaska and part love story, Still Points North is a powerful, action-packed story about choosing the complexities of human connection over escape and isolation—and finding a way back home
Watch a trailer for the book below:

Caribou
© 2014 Leigh Newman     Facebook Linkedin Twitter